Engineering

Welcome

Students in Engineering Sciences learn to apply engineering principles, methods, and techniques to conceive, design, implement, and operate (CDIO) value-added engineering products, processes, and systems.

Our programs embrace project-based learning opportunities, working with real-world challenges and local industry partners. In fact, we have partnered with Siemens Technik Akademie Berlin to deliver the Siemens Mechatronics Systems Certification Program, a comprehensive industry skill certification.

We offer a range of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering programs suited to the many interests of our mechanical and electrical engineering students.

Highlights

SONAMI 2018

Sheridan's Centre for Advanced Manufacturing and Design Technologies (CAMDT) with partners Niagara College, McMaster University’s McMaster Manufacturing Research Institute (MMRI) and Mohawk College’s Additive Manufacturing Resource Centre (AMRC), have joined together to create the Southern Ontario Network for Advanced Manufacturing Innovation (SONAMI).

From prototype development to production planning and production automation, SONAMI partners have capabilities in the specializations of Additive Manufacturing, Flexible Manufacturing, High Productivity Manufacturing and Industrial Internet.

Electric Vehicle Challenge

Congratulations to the Mechanical Engineering students who participated in the Waterloo Electric Vehicle Challenge on May 27th. Not only is Sheridan pioneering college level involvement in this challenge being the second College to compete, but they took first for the 24v College-level race, and placed 8th overall.

Already thinking of improvements, Electronics and Computer Engineering students are looking at putting an Arduino and a Raspberry Pi in place of a smaller, more efficient motor.

Special thanks to Lawrence Porter, Electronics Engineering Technician, for his help in pulling the Electrical Vehicle Challenge together. And congratulations to everyone who was involved in this awesome undertaking!

Administrators & Advisors

Dr Amjed Majeed
Associate Dean
amjed.majeed@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5077
Office: C264

Cathie Muirhead
Academic Portfolio Administrator
catherine.muirhead@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 8078
Office: C264

Maria De Sousa
Program Support Specialist
maria.desousa@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5110
Office: C264

Dr Joaquin Moran
Academic Adviser
Mechanical Cluster Programs
joaquin.moran@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5112
Office: C264

Dr Hooman Nabovati
Academic Adviser
Computer Engineering & Electronics Engineering
hooman.nabovati@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 4501
Office: C264

Dr Ramin Ghalati
Math Adviser
ramin.ghalati@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5446
Office: C264

Coordinators

Dr Weijing Ma
Coordinator, Computer Engineering
weijing.ma@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5619
Office: C264

Dr Jonathan Kim
Coordinator, Electronics Engineering
jonathan.kim@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5465
Office: C274

Dr Srinivas Ganapathyraju
Coordinator, Electromechanical Engineering
srinivas.ganapathyraju@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5014
Office: C264

Aravind Venkatapathy
Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering Technology–Design & Drafting
aravind.venkatapathy @sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5013
Office: C264

Dr Lewis Mununga
Coordinator, Mechanical Engineering
lewis.mununga@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5463
Office: C264

Dr Mozammel Khan, PEng
Coordinator, Quality Assurance (Post Grad)
mozammel.khan@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5174
Office: C264

Dr Marisela Strocchia
Coordinator, Manufacturing Management (Post Grad)
marisela.strocchia@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 2310
Office: C264

Dr Amjed Majeed and Dr Andy Al Alubaidy
Applied Research and Industry Project Coordinators
amjed.majeed@sheridancollege.ca - Ext: 5077
andy.alubaidy@sheridancollege.ca - Ext: 5524
Office: C264

Dr Amjed Majeed
Siemens Mechatronics Coordinator
amjed.majeed@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5077
Office: C264

Dr Jon Berge
Student Success Coordinator
jon.berge@sheridancollege.ca
Ext: 5539
Office: C264