Applied Computing


Sheridan’s Applied Computing programs prepare you to respond to the rapidly evolving field of Information and Communication Technology. You’ll experience hands-on learning in leading-edge topics like information systems security, mobile and wireless technology, web development, computer programming, software engineering and development, interactive media management, database development and internet communications technology.

The School of Applied Computing offers a spectrum of 11 computer programs covering different credentials including: 2-year Diplomas, 3-year Advanced Diplomas, 4-year Degrees and 1-year Graduate Certificates. Many of the computing programs have subtle differences that can be challenging to decipher. Please use the summary link below to help you understand the differences between the 11 programs, and to help you find the best program for your interests, skills and goals.


Launch of the Centre for Mobile Innovation

Approximately 100 industry, faculty and student guests joined Dr. Ed Sykes at the official launch of the Centre for Mobile Innovation (CMI) last Tuesday evening.

With presentations by Dr. Janet Morrison, Stephen Brickell (of Healthcare & Higher Education Value) and Dr. Sonny Kohli (from Cloud Dx), attendees enjoyed a glimpse into the limitless possibilities for the Centre for Mobile Innovation.

We're looking forward to see all the exciting, innovative solutions to come out of the CMI.

Skills Ontario Competition 2017

Congratulations to all Sheridan participants at the 2017 Skills Ontario competition last week. You not only represented Sheridan, you raised the bar for what can be accomplished.

Congratulations to all our participants and award winners and good luck in the next stage of the Skills Competitions.

Sheridan's Cyber Security Symposium Student Contest Winners

The Faculty of Applied Science and Technology showcased its InfoSec talent on Mon, May 15th at Sheridan's Cyber Security Symposium. With attendees from Scalar, Paladion, eSentire, Herjavec Group and many more, students presented their solutions and networked with industry representatives.

Congratulations to David Sigmundson and Nebojsa Bajagic for their 1st place project investigating security concerns around low-cost, consumer-grade Internet of Things (IoT) devices.

Second place winners Jordan Fung, Gabriel Lagarde and Joshua Pui presented their project 'Electronic Test Equipment Security' which identified a potential new security vulnerability and attack vector targeting the electronics manufacturing supply chain.

And third place winners Justin Fukumoto, Jared Murray and Benjamin Hofstede explored the creation of a threat hunting platform to track and hunt threats inside corporate infrastructure.

Congratulations to you all for your great work and attention to detail.

Centre for Mobile Innovation receives significant federal investment

Sheridan's Centre for Mobile Innovation (CMI) has received a combined $3.3 million funding from federal sources to continue to tackle real world challenges that local businesses face.

We look forward to exploring the CMI's innovative solutions.

2017 Coop Student of the Year awards

The Faculty of Applied Science and Technology was proud to celebrate the successes of our Coop Students of the year on Tuesday, March 28th.

Congratulations to FAST's Coop Student of the Year recipients, Harmandeep Singh Sidhu, for Mechanical and Electrical Engineering Technology (pictured on the left) and Catherine Poehlman, for Applied Computing (pictured on the right).

Catharine was further celebrated as the recipient of the prestigious EWO (Education at Work Ontario) Coop student of the year award. EWO is the voice of post secondary cooperative education in Ontario and the award reflects a significant province-wide accomplishment.

Congratulations Harmandeep and Catharine. You make us proud!

Contacts Trafalgar

Ricardo Hoar
Associate Dean, Trafalgar
Ext. 5467

Rebecca Moore
Academic Portfolio Administrator
Ext. 2263

Cathy Runciman
Program Support Specialist
Ext. 2339

Contacts Davis

Philip Stubbs
Associate Dean, Davis
Ext. 2203

Jacqueline Smith
Academic Portfolio Administrator
Ext. 5759

Christina Spadafora
Program Support Specialist
Ext. 5471