Sheridan Students place second in 2016 TVO Short Doc Contest

Apr 29, 2016

A team of students from Sheridan’s one-year, graduate certificate program In Advanced Television and Film (ATVF)  recently took second place in the 2016 TVO Short Doc Contest.  The top three winners were selected by public voting on ten finalists, whose films were screened during prime time over an eleven-day period in April.

The winning film, “A Different Way”, focuses on dating and disability from the perspective of Luke Anderson, who became a paraplegic following a mountain bike accident.  As he adjusted to his new life as a wheelchair user, dating seemed out of reach.  “A Different Way” explores how Luke overcame his fears and began to embrace personal relationships again.

The film’s director, Felicity Justrabo, became aware of Luke through his work as founder of the StopGap Foundation, a volunteer-driven organization which runs Community Ramp Projects to increase accessibility across Canada.  “Luke was so open and honest with me and has such an interesting story, that it was easy to create a film about his life,” says Justrabo. 

Other team members on the film included Michal Flax, producer; Tricia McLeod, associate producer; Eilish McBrearty, director of photography; Dan Ni Shan, art director; Kayla Salt, sound mixer; Omar Siddiqui, editor; Jodie Gordon, editing assistant; and Tyler Boyco, graphic designer.  “A Different Way” was created as a full term assignment in the ATVF program’s  Documentary Film Production course.

About the Advanced Television and Film program:

Sheridan’s Advanced Television and Film is a three-term graduate certificate program designed for mature students who already hold a diploma or degree, and for working professional seeking to upgrade their skill set.  The program belongs to CILECT (Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision), an international consortium of the world’s major television and film schools.  The work of students in the program consistently wins awards at film festivals in North America and internationally.

Photo, L to R:  Michael Flax, Dan Ni Shan, Tricia McLeod, Kayla Salt, Felicity Justrabo, Omar Siddiqui

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.