Sheridan celebrates Convocation 2015

Jun 10, 2015

Sheridan’s annual Convocation ceremonies are taking place from June 8 to June 11 at the Living Arts Centre in Mississauga.  Over 7,000 graduates will cross the stage during eleven ceremonies this week.  In addition, four notable individuals will be presented with honorary degrees:

Hazel McCallion, former Mayor of Mississauga

Ignat (Iggy) Kaneff, CEO and Chairman, Kaneff Group of Companies

Dean Deblois, Animation Director, DreamWorks Studio

Graham Annable, Animation Director, LAIKA Studio

Dean Deblois and Graham Annable are both Sheridan alumni and 2015 Academy Award nominees for Best Animated Feature – Deblois for How to Train Your Dragon Two, and Annable for The Boxtrolls.

Dean Deblois and Graham Annable at the Living Arts Centre

A number of distinguished speakers will address the graduates over the course of the week, including Randy Pilon, President and CEO, Virox Technologies Inc,; Stefan Danis, CEO and Chief Talent Officer, Mandrake; Kim Davidson, President and CEO, Side Effects Software; Melanie Egan, Head of the Craft Department, Harbourfront Centre; Michelle Pommells, President and CEO, Home Suite Hope; Laura Sky, Executive Director, Skyworks Charitable Foundation; Kirsty Duncan, MP for Etobicoke North;  Akhilesh Mishra, Consul General of India; and Alex Ciraco, President of AC Consulting.

Sheridan will also honour some of its own with the Professor Emeritus designation, which is awarded to retired faculty members who have shown exemplary performance.  This year’s recipients are Mary Kanko, Pilon School of Business; Anne Hartley, Faculty of Applied Health and Community Studies; and William Costigane, Faculty of Applied Science and Technology.

[photo courtesy of The Mississauga News]

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.