CSA winners

Fourteen alumni take home 2014 Canadian Screen Awards

Mar 26, 2014

Fourteen Sheridan graduates have received Canadian Screen Awards which celebrate homegrown talent in front of the camera and behind the scenes in film, television and digital media. The Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs) were presented at a series of week-long events, culminating in the final broadcast gala on March 9 in Toronto. This year’s alumni winners represent a variety of Sheridan programs, including media arts, animation, interactive multimedia, art & art history, journalism, and bachelor of design (honours), and their graduation years range from 1990 to 2007.

First-time nominee Aaron Shapero was thrilled to win a CSA, especially for his contribution to a series that has made a difference to the lives of others. The 2007 Media Arts grad received the award for Best Picture Editing in a Reality/Competition Program or Series for Intervention Canada – Tammy.

“It's not every day that you can work on a series that gives families and individuals in dire need of help an opportunity to turn their lives around,” said Aaron. “Tammy’s was a heart-wrenching story that truly captured the essence of the show, beginning with her overwhelming addiction, to her ongoing recovery in the end.”

Aaron called the win a “huge honour” for both him and John Watson, the other editor who worked on the episode. “As much as I hoped I would win, I didn't actually expect to hear the words, ‘and the winner is… Aaron Shapero.’ It was a surreal experience to be on stage accepting the award amongst all of the other incredibly talented filmmakers in the room."

Here’s a list of all the Sheridan alumni who won Canadian Screen Awards

Stephen Barden (Media Arts, 1995), Alex Bullick (Computer Foundations, 1999 & Media Arts, 2002), J.R. Fountain (Media Arts, 2001), and Jill Purdy (Media Arts, 1996), Best Achievement in Sound Editing for The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones.

Peter Persaud (Media Arts, 1993), Best Achievement in Overall Sound for The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones.

Ryan Andal (Interactive Multimedia, 2005) and Pietro Gagliano [Art Fundamentals, 2002 and Bachelor of Design (Honours), 2006], Best Cross-Platform Projects in the Children’s and Youth, Fiction, and Non-Fiction categories for The Next Step Interactive, Continuum Interactive and The Amazing Race Canada Interactive. Chris Harris (Journalism – Print, 1999), Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction for Continuum Interactive.

Frank Falcone (Art and Art History, 1990) and Brandon James Scott (Art Fundamentals, 2003 and BAA Animation, 2007), Best Pre-School Program or Series for Justin Time.

Jason Boose (Art Fundamentals, 1991 and Classical Animation, 1995) and Sarah Mercey (Classical Animation, 1997), Best Direction in an Animated Program or Series for The Magic Hockey Skates.

Maria Gordon (Computer Graphics, 1997 and Computer Animation, 1998), Best Visual Effects for Vikings – Dispossessed.

Aaron Shapero (Media Arts, 2007), Best Picture Editing in a Reality/Competition Program or Series for Intervention Canada – Tammy.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.