CSA winners

14 Sheridan Graduates Win Canadian Screen Awards

Mar 18, 2014

Fourteen Sheridan graduates have received Canadian Screen Awards which celebrate homegrown talent in front of the camera and behind the scenes in film, television and digital media.

The Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs) were presented at a series of week-long events, culminating in the final broadcast gala on March 9 in Toronto. Twenty-seven Sheridan alumni were nominated for CSAs this year. In 2013, seven graduates received Canadian Screen Awards.

This year’s alumni winners represent a variety of Sheridan programs, including media arts, animation, interactive multimedia, art & art history, journalism, and bachelor of design (honours), and their graduation years range from 1990 to 2007.

Among the 2014 recipients are Frank Falcone (Art and Art History, 1990) and Brandon James Scott (Art Fundamentals, 2003 & BAA Animation, 2007), who won the award for Best Pre-School Program or Series for Justin Time, produced by Guru Studios in Toronto.

Ryan Andal (Interactive Multimedia, 2005) and Pietro Gagliano (Art Fundamentals, 2002 & Bachelor of Design (Honours), 2006) each took home three CSAs for Best Cross-Platform Projects in the Children’s and Youth, Fiction, and Non-Fiction categories. Sheridan graduate, Chris Harris (Journalism – Print, 1999), also received the award for Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction. The alumni were recognized for their work on The Next Step Interactive, Continuum Interactive and The Amazing Race Canada Interactive.

Maria Gordon (Computer Graphics, 1997 & Computer Animation, 1998) was part of the team that received the Best Visual Effects award for Vikings – Dispossessed.

The award for Best Direction in an Animated Program or Series went to Jason Boose (Art Fundamentals, 1991 & Classical Animation, 1995) and Sarah Mercey (Classical Animation, 1997) for The Magic Hockey Skates.

Aaron Shapero (Media Arts, 2007) was recognized in the Best Picture Editing in a Reality/Competition Program or Series for Intervention Canada – Tammy.

The award for Achievement in Sound Editing in film went to Stephen Barden (Media Arts, 1995), Alex Bullick (Computer Foundations, 1999 & Media Arts, 2002), J.R. Fountain (Media Arts, 2001), and Jill Purdy (Media Arts, 1996), for The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. Peter Persaud (Media Arts, 1993) won the award for Achievement in Overall Sound for the same film.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.