The Department of Film, TV and Journalism is comprised of programs in media, live action and documentary production, as well as journalism content production for print, broadcast and digital media, across a range of credentials. Our students graduate ready to work as film, TV and documentary-makers, editors, writers, cinematographers, reporters, anchors, producers and directors in a variety of creative industries. Our alumni have exceptionally high rates of employment in the media and journalism sectors, both locally and internationally.

Check out some related sites:


Monsters, Games and More at the 2017 Fan Expo

There was no shortage of things to see at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre during FanExpo, which is touted as the largest comics, sci-fi, horror, anime and gaming event in Canada. Sheridan’s booth caught the attention of many passersby who stopped to get up close with our students’ work.

Sheridan Grads earn Emmy Nominations

Four Sheridan alumni have been nominated for Emmys in casting and sound editing, including Stephanie Gorin, who earned her fifth nomination for casting the television series Fargo. She is joined by three other alumni who earned nods for sound editing.

Sheridan Grads at the Canadian Cinema Editor Awards

Founded in 2007, the CCE is a non-profit organization of film-editors with the goal of bettering the art and science of picture editing in all media. This year, several Sheridan grads were honoured by the CCE. Student Merit Recipients included Kayla Salt & Eilish McBrearty for I Am The Wolf, and Steven Patoine for Misaligned.

Sheridan Alumni Take Home Canadian Screen Awards

Sheridan alumni’s impact on the Canadian media scene was acknowledged last week, when two graduates won Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs). The CSAs celebrate Canadian productions and talent in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes in film, television and digital media.


Maija Saari
Associate Dean
Ext: 2176 | Office: A100

Martina Sookbirsingh
Academic Portfolio Administrator
Ext: 8741 | Office: A100c

Barbara Mathieu
Program Support Specialist
Ext: 2392 | Office: A100

Nancy Heath
Program Support Specialist
Ext. 2735 | Office: A100

Lesley Brown-Patterson
Program Support Specialist
ext. 2039 | Office: A100

Nancy Goncalves
Program Support Specialist
ext. 2577 | Office: A100

Christine Franch
Program Support Specialist
ext. 2571 | Office: A100