mobile navigation

Sheridan Senate

 Sheridan Senate 2017-18

2017-2018 Sheridan Senate Members

About the Senate

Sheridan Senate approves Academic Policies and presents Academic Programming recommendations to the Board of Governors through the Academic and Student Affairs Committee of the Board. Senate's main focus is academic quality.

  • The Chair of Senate is our President and Vice Chancellor
  • The Vice Chair of Senate is our Provost and VP Academic
  • Speaker of Senate (elected annually from voting Senators)
  • Deputy Speaker of Senate (elected annually from voting Senators)


Senate meets monthly from September to May on the fourth Thursday of each month, and on the third Thursday of June. (Senate does not meet in the months of December, July or August.) Meetings are scheduled from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and rotate between campuses.

Senate Authority

The CAAT Policy Framework and the Senate Board of Governors give the authority to the Sheridan Senate (formerly Academic Council) to assume the powers and duties as outlined in the Terms of Reference for Senate (approved June 1, 2016 by the Board of Governors). Over the 2011/2012 academic year, the Academic Council was revitalized through a significant restructuring and development of a new draft Terms of Reference. On September 20, 2012, a motion was moved and carried to rename the new Sheridan Academic Council the Sheridan Senate.


Today, the Senate is made up of 72 voting members, including:

  • 43 FT faculty (including 1 counsellor, 1 library staff, and 1 faculty member from the Centre for Teaching and Learning)
  • 5 NFT faculty
  • 5 student votes (10 student members with a maximum of 5 votes for any one decision), and;
  • 19 Ex-Officio members

Faculty (full-time and non-full-time) membership is determined through formal elections each spring within each Academic Faculty and FT representation numbers are proportionate to the number of FT faculty in each Faculty. Voting members on Senate serve a three-year term and are eligible to serve one additional three-year term. Ex-officio Senators remain on Senate as long as they hold their position at Sheridan.

Ex-officio voting members of Senate include:

  • President and Vice Chancellor, who is Chair
  • Provost, and Vice President Academic, who is Vice-Chair
  • Vice Provost
  • Vice Provost, Research
  • Director, Library and Learning Services
  • Registrar
  • Dean of Students
  • Post-Secondary Faculty (Academic) Deans – five (5)
  • Academic Associate Deans – six (6), and
  • President, Union Local 244

Voting members on Senate normally serve a three-year term and are eligible to serve one additional 3-year term. Ex-officio Senators remain on Senate as long as they hold their position at Sheridan.

Ex-officio non-voting members are:

  • VP, Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer
  • VP, Student Services and Information Technology
  • VP, Human Resources and Equity
  • Leader, Centre for Indigenous Learning and Support
  • Associate Vice President, Corporate Planning; and
  • Dean, International

There are 6 Standing Committees of Senate:

  • Academic Appeals Committee
  • Academic Policy Committee
  • Learning partnerships and Academic Pathways Committee
  • Program Quality Assurance Committee
  • Teaching and Learning Committee
  • Scholarship, Research and Creative Activities Committee

Standing Committees of Senate meet monthly and report to Senate.

Each Academic Faculty has its own Local Academic Council (LAC), which does work similar to that of the Senate at the local level with membership including significant cross representation between the Faculty LAC and the Senate for alignment and communication purposes.

For additional information, contact the Secretary of Senate, Sheila Shaver at or 905-845-9430 x 2060