Updates on study permits and Provincial Attestation Letters (PALs) for international students

SCAET building at Sheridan's Trafalgar Road Campus

Sheridan alumni celebrated as industry’s best with nominations for Canadian Screen Awards

Newsroom authorby Jill ScarrowMar 31, 2021
Share on social

Sheridan graduates from across the Faculty of Animation, Arts & Design are being celebrated for their wide-ranging contributions to excellence in the media industry, garnering 43 nominations for the 2021 Canadian Screen Awards.

During a year in which the Canadian entertainment industry has faced unprecedented challenges, Sheridan President and Vice Chancellor Dr. Janet Morrison says it’s inspiring to see Sheridan graduates demonstrating their resiliency and talent to continue to bring forward innovative content.

“We are tremendously proud of our alumni whose contributions form the backbone of the Canadian entertainment industry,” Morrison says. “Our graduates have found new ways to create content and share their talents both on screen and behind the scenes. Their work demonstrates that high-quality work will always find an audience, even in the midst of uncertain times. We are tremendously proud of our accomplished alumni and congratulate them all on this well-deserved honour.”
The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate the best of Canadian productions in film, television and digital media as well as the individual talent in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes. The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television will present the CSAs through a series of live-streamed events between May 17 and May 20.
Alumni who earned nominations for their work on television shows are:

  • Sharron Matthews (Theatre Arts Performance ’89) is nominated for best supporting actress in a drama for her role as Flo Chakowitz on Frankie Drake Mysteries.
  • In the category of best pre-school program or series, Frank Falcone (Art & Art History ’90) and Toni Stevens (Media Arts ’85) are nominated for Abby Hatcher. Stevens is also nominated for Paw Patrol, along with Pascale Leblanc (Animation ’13). Falcone also earned a nomination in the category for True and the Rainbow Kingdom.
  • Alumna and current Sheridan faculty member Tracy German (Media Arts ’95) is nominated for best factual series for Wild Archaeology.
  • The best visual effects category includes representation from many Sheridan alumni. Adam Smith (Animation ’01), Sawyer Tomkinson-Hunnef (Computer Animation ’16) and Jay Stanners (Animation ’89) are nominated for their work on Trickster. Tomkinson-Hunnef is also nominated for Cardinal: Until the Night, and Maria Gordon (Computer Animation ’98) is recognized in the category for Vikings.
  • Inessa Frantowski (Theatre & Drama Studies ’02), has earned a nod for best fiction web program/series for The Amazing Gayl Pile, while Nicole Stamp (Theatre and Drama Series ’01) is recognized in best writing, web program or series, for Lockdown.
  • For best direction, animation, Mark Thornton (Animation ’93) is nominated for True and the Rainbow Kingdom, while Charles Bastien (Animation ’83) is recognized for Paw Patrol and Kyran Kelly (Animation’93) earned a nod for Abby Hatcher.
  • Also nominated for directing is Yasmin Evering-Kerr (Advanced Television and Film ’19) in the category of best direction, documentary series, for Being Black in Toronto.
  • Shayne Ciarlo McGreal (Journalism ’11) has been nominated for the Barbara Sears Award for Best Visual Research for Once Were Brothers.
  • Randy Daudlin (Computer Graphics ’91), is recognized in the achievement in make-up category for Cardinal: Until the Night.
  • Steve Johnston (Advanced TV and Film’ 03), earned a nod for best social media in a live production for work on the 2020 Polaris Music Prize Celebration.
  • Lucius Dechausay (Advanced TV and Film ’03), received a nomination for best production, interactive, for The 2010s: The decade Canadian artists stopped saying sorry.
  • Patrick McKenna (Hotel and Restaurant Management ’82), received a nomination for best performance in animation for his work in Esme & Roy.
  • In the best sound in animation category, Kyle Peters (Media Arts ’08), Patton Rodrigues (Media Arts ’12), Ryan Ongaro (Media Arts ’12), Timothy Muirhead (Media Arts ’98), and Luke Dante (Media Arts ’16) are all recognized for their work on Paw Patrol.
  • For best sound in fiction, Clive Turner (Media Arts ’85) and Mike Worokniuk (Media Arts ’95) have received nods for Wyonna Earp. Rounding out grad representation in the category are Jill Purdy (Media Arts ’96) for Coroner and Ian Rankin (Media Arts ’92) for Vikings.
  • Jeff Perry (Advanced Television and Film ’06) has been recognized for best picture editing in a reality or competition show for his work on Big Brother Canada and Stronger Together, Tous Ensemble. He’s joined in the category by Wesley Finucan (Advanced Television and Film ’04) for the Great Chocolate Showdown, and Ryan Monteith (Media Arts ’00) for Big Brother Canada.
  • Desmond Sargeant (Media Arts ’06) received a nomination for best writing in animation for Xavier Riddle and the Secret Museum.
  • For best photography in a lifestyle or reality/competition show, Mike Rilstone (Media Fundamentals ’09) is nominated for his work on Making it Home with Kortney and Dave.

Alumni are also recognized for their work on films:

  • For achievement in editing, Jane MacRae (Advanced Television and Film ’07) is nominated for The Cuban and Christine Armstrong (Media Arts ’07) for Sugar Daddy.
  • In achievement in sound mixing, Mark Zsifkovits (Media Arts ’96) and Daniel Moctezuma (Media Arts ’15) are recognized for their work on Random Acts of Violence.
  • Steven Huynh (Computer Animation ’10) and Sophia Jooyeon Lee (Animation ’09) are both nominated for achievement in visual effects for their work in Code 8.

Sheridan’s award-winning alumni have a long history of success at the Canadian Screen Awards, earning multiple nominations and awards each year, recognition that inspires our learners and the broader community.

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.