Canadian Screen Awards logo 2020

Fifteen Sheridan alumni win Canadian Screen Awards

Jun 2, 2020
Share on social

The talent and creativity of Sheridan alumni were recognized this past week with Canadian Screen Awards.

Fifteen grads won across ten categories, with many alums continuing the success they saw at last year’s awards.

“Although the world may be changing, the ingenuity and hard work of Sheridan grads remains a constant,” says Dr, Janet Morrison, Sheridan’s President and Vice Chancellor. “I’m thrilled to celebrate all of our alumni who won Canadian Screen Awards this year. Their success is an inspiration to our current students, who will chart their own paths and carve out their own accomplishments.”

The CSAs celebrate Canadian productions and talent in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes in film, television and digital media. Traditionally, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television presents the CSAs during a series of events that culminate in a gala in Toronto. This year, following the cancellation of all Canadian Screen Week events due to the COVID-19 pandemic, celebrations were held virtually, with presentations live-streamed on the Canadian Academy Facebook, Twitter and YouTube channels.

Sheridan alumni winners include:

  • Charles E. Bastien (Animation '83) won Best Direction, Animation for PAW Patrol.
  • Media Arts grads Luke Dante (’16), Timothy Muirhead (’98), Ryan Ongaro (’12), Patton Rodrigues (’13), Kyle Peters (’08) won Best Sound, Animation for their work on PAW Patrol.
  • Toni Stevens-Fleischmann (Media Arts ’85) was part of the team to take home Best Pre-School Program or Series for their work on Paw Patrol.
  • Lucius Dechausay (Advanced TV & Film ’03) took home the award for Best Production, Interactive for his work on Super Queeroes.
  • In the category of Best Sports Opening, Chris Nasso (Graphic Design ’96) won for Bob Cole’s Final Game, on Sportsnet.
  • 29 Forever on TSN won Best Sports Program or Series, featuring work from Roy Janke (Media Arts ’92).
  • Maria A. Gordon (Computer Animation ’98) and Kieran McKay (Computer Animation ’09) were on the team to win Best Visual Effects for Vikings.
  • In the category of Best Achievement in Makeup, Randy Daudlin (Computer Graphics ’91) took home the award for work he did on Cardinal.
  • Lisa M. Barley (Journalism-Broadcast '10) won Picture Editing, Reality/Competition for Amazing Race Canada.
  • Paul Giliberti (Animation ’97) was part of the team to take home the award for Achievement in Visual Effects for Brotherhood.
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.