Updates on study permits and Provincial Attestation Letters (PALs) for international students

Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television logo

Thirty-six Sheridan alumni nominated for Canadian Screen Awards

Feb 11, 2019
Share on social

Nearly 40 Sheridan alumni received nominations for the 2019 Canadian Screen Awards.

Grads were nominated across 20 categories, continuing Sheridan's record of success. Since the CSAs were first introduced in 2013, more than 160 alumni have been nominated.

The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate Canadian productions and talent in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes in film, television and digital media. The nominated alumni span multiple disciplines, and are graduates from across the College's Faculty of Animation, Arts & Design.

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television will present the CSAs on March 31 in Toronto. Sheridan's nominated alumni are: 

  • Sharron Matthews (Theatre Arts Performance ’89), Best Supporting Actress, Drama, Frankie Drake Mysteries.
  • Inessa Frantowski (Theatre and Drama Studies ’02), Best Supporting Performance, Web Program or Series, The Amazing Gayl Pile: Apocalypse Soonish
  • In the category of Best Achievement in Make Up, two grads are nominated: Randy Daudlin (Computer Graphics '81) for Cardinal: Blackfly Season and Melanie Sleep (Cosmetic Techniques and Management '95) for Back In Time For Dinner.
  • Helen Lebeau (Media Arts '82) in the category of Best Animated Program or Series for Hotel Transylvania: The Series and Best Pre-School Program or Series for Ranger Rob.
  • Toni Stevens (Media Arts '85) in the category of Best Animated Program or Series for PAW Patrol. Stevens is also nominated in the Best Pre-School Program or Series category for Rusty Rivets.
  • Amanda Strong (Bachelor of Illustration '09) for Best Animated Short, Biidaaban
  • Michael Fukushima (Animation '85) earned a Best Animated Short nomination for Animal Behaviour. He was also nominated in the Best Immersive Experience-Fiction category for Museum of Symmetry.
  • Paloma Dawkins (Art Fundamentals ’10) was nominated alongside Fukushima for Best Virtual Reality Game for Music of Symmetry
  • In the category of Best Children's or Youth Fiction Program or Series, Michael Hefferon (Animation '89) earned a nomination for Reboot: The Guardian Code
  • Ryan Andal (Interactive Multimedia '05) is up for Wild Canadian Year 360 in the category of Best Cross-Platform Project. He has also been nominated for Best Immersive Experience-Fiction for The Great C.
  • For Best Cross-Platform Project - Children’s & Youth, Leisha-Marie Riddel (Bachelor of Animation '10), Nathan Langdon (Bachelor of Illustration-Interpretive '12) and Alex Gordon (Animation ’00) were nominated for Dino Dana Digital.
  • Three alumni have been nominated for Best Direction, Web Program or Series. Lucius J. Dechausay (Advanced Television and Film '03) for The Move, and Connor Illsley (Media Arts '14) and Jon Riera (Media Arts '13) for Deerbrook.
  • Evan Jones (Interactive Multimedia ’03) is up for Best Immersive Experience – Fiction for Flow Weaver.
  • In the category of Best Original Interactive Production, Pablo Vio (Interactive Media ’03) is nominated for Nuclear Dissent.
  • David Yenovkian (Media Arts ’03), Best Picture Editing, Factual, A User's Guide to Cheating Death - Vitamins and Supplements.
  • Aaron Shapero (Media Arts ’07) has been nominated for Best Picture Editing, factual for Intervention Canada – Jade.
  • Four alumni have been nominated in the category of Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition: Ryan Monteith (Media Arts ’00) and Chris Donaldson (Media Arts ’07) for Big Brother Canada – Finale; David Yenovkian (Media Arts ’03) and Gloria S. Tong (Media Arts ’04) for Amazing Race Canada - Just a Beaver Hero. Monteith (Media Arts ’00) also earned a nomination for Top Chef Canada - Double Overtime.
  • Media Arts grads Tim Muirhead (’98), Kyle Peters (’08), Patton Rodrigues (’12) and Ryan Ongaro (’12) are nominated for Best Sound, Animation for PAW Patrol
  • Five grads have been nominated in the Best Sound, Fiction category. Dashen Naidoo (Media Arts’06), Tyler Whittam (Media Arts ’06) and Scott Sheperd (Media Arts ’89) were nominated for Anne with an E – Youth is the Season of Hope. Steve Hammond (Media Arts ’87) is up for Murdoch Mysteries, Mike Woroniuk (’95) for Wynonna Earp - War Paint and Kelly McGahey (Advanced Television and Film ’15) for Cardinal: Blackfly Season.
  • Matt Dorman (Media Arts ’08) is nominated in two categories: Best Sports Feature Segment for The Mystery of Paul Ranger and Sports Program or Series for Endless - In Pursuit of the Barkley.
  • Roy Janke (Media Arts ’91) for Best Sports, Program or Series for Reborn – Basketball & Reconciliation in Rwanda
  • In the category of Best Visual Effects, Mike Kwan (Media Arts ’07) and Anthony De Chellis (Art Fundamentals ’01) are nominated for Wynonna Earp - War Paint. Kieran McKay (Computer Animation ’09) for Vikings - Moments of Vision, and Mitchell Stuart (Computer Animation ’05) for Travelers.
  • In the category of Best Web Program or Series, Fiction, James Stewart (Bachelor of Design ’01) is nominated for Chateau Laurier.
  • David Rose (Media Arts ’91) and Erik Culp (Media Arts ’96) are part of the team behind Anthropocene: The Human Epoch, which has been nominated for the 2019 Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary Award.
  • Ian Rankin (Media Arts '92) for Best Sound, Fiction for his work on Vikings – Moments of Vision
Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.