Canadian Screen Awards

Eighteen Sheridan graduates take home Canadian Screen Awards

Mar 15, 2016

Congratulations to 18 Sheridan graduates who have received 17 Canadian Screen Awards this year. The Canadian Screen Awards (CSAs) celebrate homegrown talent in front of the camera and behind the scenes in film, television and digital media. The 2016 CSAs were presented at a series of week-long events, culminating in the final broadcast gala on March 13 in Toronto. This year’s alumni winners represent a range of Sheridan programs including advanced television and film, animation, applied photography, bachelor of design (honours), interactive multimedia, media arts and new media design. Their graduation years range from 1973 to 2014.

Once again, Sheridan media arts graduates were among the winners in several sound categories, with 1991 alumnus David Rose taking home three awards. Michael Nunan, a 1992 graduate, received two awards, including the Outstanding Technical Achievement Award. Alan Zweig, a media arts alumnus from 1977, won the Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary award for Hurt.

In other highlights, 1990 animation graduate Mauro Casalese received the award for Best Animated Program or Series for Rocket Monkeys, and 1986 animation alumnus Jamie Whitney won the award for Best Direction in an Animation Program or Series for Paw Patrol. Alumni at interactive agency Secret Location landed three awards in the Digital Media categories.

The following Sheridan graduates received 2016 Canadian Screen Awards:


Mauro Casalese (Animation, 1990)

Best Animated Program or Series, Rocket Monkeys

Erik Culp (Media Arts, 1996), Steve Hammond (Media Arts, 1987), David Rose (Media Arts, 1991), Scott Shepherd (Media Arts, 1989)

Best Sound in a Comedy or Dramatic Program or Series, The Book of Negroes

Chelsea Gomez (Journalism New Media, 2014)

Barbara Sears Award for Best Editorial Research - the fifth estate - The Mob and Michael Degroote

Maria Gordon (Computer Graphics, 1997), Ken MacKenzie (Animation, 2007)

Best Visual Effects, Vikings - To the Gates!

Michael Nunan (Media Arts, 1992)

Best Sound in a Variety or Animated Program or Series, 2015 Pan Am Games Opening Ceremony

Michael Nunan (Media Arts, 1992)

Outstanding Technical Achievement Award, Much Music Video Awards – Router-Based Audio Production Design

David Rose (Media Arts, 1991)

Best Sound in a Non-Fiction Program or Series, Songs of Freedom            

Morna Scott-Dunne (Advanced Television and Film, 2001)

Best News or Information Program, CBC News: Marketplace - Licence to Deceive

Jamie Whitney (Animation, 1986)

Best Direction in an Animation Program or Series, Paw Patrol - Pups Save a Talent Show/Pups Save the Corn Roast  

John Simpson (Media Arts, 2005)

Best Talk Program or Series, The Marilyn Denis Show


Anthony DeChellis (Art Fundamentals, 2001), Achievement in Visual Effects, Hyena Road

David Rose (Media Arts, 1991), Achievement in Sound Editing, Hyena Road 

Don White (Media Arts, 1973), Achievement in Overall Sound, Hyena Road

Alan Zweig (Media Arts, 1977), Ted Rogers Best Feature Length Documentary, Hurt

Digital Media

Ryan Andal (Interactive Multimedia, 2005)

Best Cross-Platform Project-Fiction, The Book of Negroes Interactive

Pietro Gagliano [Art Fundamentals, 2002 & Bachelor of Design (Honours), 2006], Ryan Andal (Interactive Multimedia, 2005), Todd Feaver (Applied Photography, 2002 & New Media Design, 2005)

Best Cross-Platform Project - Children's and Youth, Gaming Show Interactive

Pietro Gagliano [Art Fundamentals, 2002 & Bachelor of Design (Honours), 2006]

Best Original Interactive Production Produced for Digital Media, Highrise: Universe Within

Cookies help us improve your website experience.
By using our website, you agree to our use of cookies.