mobile navigation

Our campuses remain closed, but we're open virtually. Find out about our 2020 Fall Experience Guarantee.

skip to main content

Latest News

Photo Announcing the Nominees for the 2018 Canadian Screen Awards

Sheridan alumni rack up 2018 Canadian Screen Award nominations

January 18, 2018

Sheridan graduates are among the best talent in Canadian media, and their work is getting noticed. This week, alumni received nearly 40 nominations for Canadian Screen Awards (CSA), continuing Sheridan’s record of success. Since the CSAs were introduced in 2013, more than 160 alumni have been nominated. 

The Canadian Screen Awards celebrate Canadian productions and talent in front of the camera and behind-the-scenes in film, television and digital media.  Sheridan’s nominated alumni represent the depth of excellence from across the College’s Faculty of Animation, Arts & Design. Dean Ronni Rosenberg says the nominations are a testament to the College’s expertise in preparing students for success. “Sheridan is a leader in producing graduates who are in demand to meet the needs of the Canadian media landscape,” she says. “Our graduates continue to influence a broad spectrum of media, and we are proud of their accomplishments.”

The Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television will present the 2018 CSAs on March 11 in Toronto. Sheridan’s nominated alumni are:



Charlsie Agro (Journalism ’09) Best News or Information Program for her work on CBC Marketplace.

In the category of Best Direction, Animation, three grads are nominated: Charles E. Bastien (Animation ’83) for PAW Patrol; Robin Budd for Hotel Transylvania and Matt Ferguson (Animation ’01) for Mysticons.

Fraser Brown (Media Arts ’06) for Kim's Convenience in the category of Best Photography, Comedy.

Cliff Dempster, (Advertising ’85) in the category of Best Reality/Competition Program or Series for Top Chef Canada.

Matt Dorman (Media Arts ’08) for Best Sports Feature Segment for his work on Sound of Thunder. Dorman is also nominated for Best Sports Program or Series for Journey to the Grey Cup.

Frank Falcone (Computer Animation ’92), for Best Pre-School Program or Series, Justin Time.

Wesley Finucan (Advanced TV & Film ’04) is nominated for Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition for work on two productions: The Amazing Race Canada and Big Brother Canada. Ryan Monteith (Media Arts ’00) is also nominated for Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition for Big Brother Canada.

Melissa Graham (Animation ’97), Best Pre-School Program or Series, Max & Ruby.

Stephanie Gorin (Music Theatre ’81), Best Achievement in Casting, for work on Anne.

Glen Keenan (Media Arts ’91), for Frontier on Discovery Channel, for Best Photography, Drama.

Helen Lebeau, (Media Arts ’82) for Hotel Transylvania in the category of Best Animated Programs or Series. Lebeau is also nominated for Best Pre-School Program or Series for Max & Ruby.

Jeff Lemire (Illustration ’05) is nominated for the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Doc Program for The Secret Path.

Kieran McKay, (Computer Animation ’09) for Best Visual Effects for work on Vikings

Tim Muirhead (Media Arts ’98), Kyle Peters (Media Arts ’08), Ryan Ongaro (Media Arts ’12) and Patton Rodrigues (Media Arts ’12) are nominated for Best Sound, Animation, for PAW Patrol.

For Best Sound, Fiction, five grads received nods for their work on X Company: Jill Purdy (Media Arts ’96); J.R Fountain (Media Arts ’01); Richard Calistan (Media Arts ’89); Steve Hammond (Media Arts ’87); and Mike Woroniuk (Media Arts ’95). They are joined in the category by Dave Johnson (Media Arts ’13), who is nominated for Frontier on Discovery Channel.

Nicole Power (Music Theatre Performance ’10) for Best Supporting or Guest Actress, Comedy, for her role on Kim’s Convenience.

Toni Stevens (Media Arts ’85), Best Pre-School Program or Series for PAW Patrol.

David Yenovikan (Media Arts ’03) is nominated for Best Picture Editing, Reality/Competition for The Amazing Race Canada.



J.R. Fountain (Media Arts ’01), Dashen Naidoo (Media Arts ’06) and Tyler Whitham (Media Arts ’06), are nominated for Achievement in Sound Editing for The Breadwinner

Robin Joseph (Animation ’05) for Best Animated Short for his film, Fox and the Whale.


Digital Media 

In the category of Best Cross-Platform Project – Fiction, two grads are nominated:  Mel Maduro (Animation ’08) for Orphan Black: The Game; and Evan Jones (Interactive Multimedia ’03) for Thornwood Heights Interactive. Jones is also nominated for Best Cross-Platform Project - Non Fiction, for Home to Win Integrated Digital Strategy.

Pablo Vio (Interactive Multimedia ’03) for Best Original Interactive Production for his work on I Spy (With My 5 Eyes).